The Light

The light flickers, and I panic.
It comes back to life and my heart is at ease.
It seems to be dimmer than before.
I fear that everything may be lost
If I don’t follow it.
Yet, I hesitate.
I decide to sprint toward it.
With every step I take,
The flickers instensify, and so does the beat of my heart.
I can sense the warmth from the light.
A change of atmosphere is felt as I get closer to it.
It is an arm’s length away now.

I see a light in the distance. 

And, like a beacon,

It calls me.

It promises a better life,

A life of ease,

A clear future,

A clear path,

Laid out before my eyes.

So I take a step toward it.
The light flickers, and I panic.

It comes back to life and my heart is at ease.

It seems to be dimmer than before.

I fear that everything may be lost

If I don’t follow it.

Yet, I hesitate.

I decide to sprint toward it.

With every step I take, 

The flickers instensify, and so does the beat of my heart.

I can sense the warmth from the light.

A change of atmosphere is felt as I get closer to it.

It is an arm’s length away now. 
My arm stretches toward it.

I hold my breath as my fingers close in on it,

And everything darkens around me. 

The light diminishes, till nothing is left.

Reality comes back to me,

However, I feel like something has been taken away from me.

I take a breath to let it all sink in,

And I fall down to my knees.

A burden has just been dropped onto my shoulders. 

Leave a Reply

